Anti-Inflammatory Dietary Guidelines

Category Foods to INCLUDE Foods to EXCLUDE
Fruits Fresh; unsweetened; dried; frozen; or canned, water-packed fruits; fruit juices (except orange) Oranges, orange juice
Vegetables   All fresh, raw, steamed, sautéed, juiced, or roasted vegetables Corn; any creamed vegetables
Starch Rice, oats, millet, quinoa, amaranth, teff, tapioca, buckwheat, potatoes Wheat, corn, barley, spelt, kamut, rye; ALL gluten containing products
Bread/Cereal Products made from rice, oat, buckwheat, millet, potato flour, tapioca, arrowroot, amaranth, or quinoa Products made from wheat, spelt, kamut, rye, or barley
Legumes
(Vegetable protein)
 
All legumes including peas and lentils (except soybeans) Tofu, tempeh, soybeans, soy milk; other soy products
Nuts & Seeds Almonds, cashews, walnuts, sesame (tahini), sunflower, pumpkin; nut butters (except peanut) Peanuts, peanut butter
Meat and Fish
(Animal Protein)
All fresh or frozen fish, chicken, turkey, wild game, lamb; canned water-packed fish) Beef, pork, cold cuts, frankfurters, sausage, canned meats (other than water-packed fish), shellfish
Dairy Milk substitutes such as rice milk, almond milk, oat milk, coconut milk, or other nut milks; eggs and egg substitute Milk, cheese, cottage cheese, cream, yogurt, butter, ice cream, frozen yogurt, non-dairy creamers, soy milk
Fats Oils: cold pressed olive, flaxseed, canola, safflower, sunflower, sesame, walnut, pumpkin, or almond Margarine, butter, shortening, processed and hydrogenated oils, mayonnaise, spreads
Beverages Filtered or distilled water, decaffeinated herbal tea, seltzer or mineral water Soda pop or soft drinks, alcoholic beverages, coffee, tea, other caffeinated beverages
Spices & Condiments Vinegar, all spices including salt, pepper, cinnamon, cumin, dill, garlic, carob, oregano, parsley, rosemary, tarragon, thyme, or turmeric Chocolate, ketchup, relish, chutney, soy sauce, BBQ sauce, other condiments
Sweeteners Brown rice syrup, fruit sweeteners, blackstrap molasses, Stevia White or brown refined sugar, honey, maple syrup, corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup

**Hidden sources of food allergens or ingredients that may cause a sensitivity reaction: corn starch in baking powder and processed foods, corn syrup solids or maltodextrin (corn derivative) used as a sweetener, grain vinegar in ketchup or mustard, amaranth and millet flak cereals may also contain oats or corn.

Contact Us

To place an order or ask a question: 800-609-6633

From Canada (or outside the US):
412-798-9800

To schedule an assessment:
888-865-9595

To phone the show:
M-F Radio show: 1-800-281-8255

Sat Radio show: 1-800-320-8255

Newsletter

Join our newsletter today and receive a 10% OFF coupon!